An Early American Portrait – Part 2

Week of June 8

Challenge-2-no.-2-webPhoto 2 (left): Pink and purple…again. I am wondering about my color choice 24 hours after returning to this Early-American portrait. You would think these were the colors of the year based off their frequency in my paintings. A quick google search of “colors of 2009” reveals that several sources, including PANTONE®, included variations of pink and purple in their 2009 trend reports. On the bright side I suppose I can consider myself in vogue for a change, although I prefer the original background that once livened up the Central Park setting.

If I thought capturing a nude model’s curves was challenging, capturing them fully clothed is even harder. I think Susan will be flattered by the slightly more curvaceous hips I gave her, although she looks like she’s wearing a straight jacket! Without having to worry about her “face,” my attention is turned towards capturing accurate value contrasts and perspective, instead of becoming bogged down with skin color. I think I am on the right track.

0 Responses to “An Early American Portrait – Part 2”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

