A Flower That Touches My Heart

February 10, 2010

“A flower touches almost everyone’s heart,” stated Georgia O’Keefe about “The White Trumpet Flower” that she painted in 1932. It is week two of my abstraction class and this flower touches my heart.

Last week I rebelled and failed to take all the required supplies to class simply because plans change and for the most part, artists can do what they want. However this week I did pick up the supplies that Michael requested, only to find out that his plans had changed and I wouldn’t be painting on a masonite board but on a large piece of cardboard stashed in a dusty corner of the Art Students League. After creating several small sketches I produced this enlarged rendition of Georgia’s flower with my trusty palette knives.

Next week we are to bring in boards no smaller than 30 x 30 inches – the largest I have ever worked on.

0 Responses to “A Flower That Touches My Heart”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

