April Fool

April 1, 2010

I painted a lot in March but have not posted my favorite piece because its a gift yet to be revealed.  On Tuesday night I completed this colorful collage of kitchen odds and ends that I worked on in my Abstraction class.

Michael allowed his students to pick a number out of a bucket before assigning the corresponding bag of odds and ends that he had coordinated, and assigned us to select an abstract piece to craft with this collection.  I settled on Pablo Picasso’s Les d’moiselles d’Avignon because I have always liked his work and it is one of his more renowned pieces.  After painting my wooden board I started cutting up my materials to adhere with gel gloss.  On Tuesday night I finished this piece to Michael’s applause of my creative use of the hideous white kitchen cupboard liner (see the top left corner and the woman on the right’s skirt).  Michael’s critique had the class in hysterics, especially when the smashed shells framing the other woman’s bosom and armpit began falling on the floor!  Now I have to find space for this large, heavy item in my very small apartment kitchen.

Last Saturday I whipped out another Picasso rendition on a masonite board. The board’s texture was a little unusual to paint on compared to the canvas surfaces that I am more familiar with, and I could not create as much texture with my palette knife as I would have liked.  It is still a successful piece.

0 Responses to “April Fool”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

