A Ghost House?

April 10, 2010

Last weekend I packed my painting supplies and drove to Washington Park with no ideas of subject matter. After sitting on a park bench overlooking the Boathouse pond I decided to switch spots so that I looked directly at one of my favorite houses bordering the park. Saturday afternoon was windy and I sat rather uncomfortably on the grass surrounded by my paint palette and other supplies. After a few hours of work I returned on Easter Sunday afternoon which was far warmer. Several runners and walkers peered curiously at my painting, and a few asked if it was my house. I wish! I would love to own a house overlooking Washington Park.

The left side of the house is covered with construction scaffolding so I did my best to “reconstruct” its frame, however I am not wild about the peachy color I selected for it. While its design is far from it, something about this painterly setting makes it almost resemble a ghost house. Perhaps its the surrounding trees or the dark window just below the roof? In reality the exterior is painted light grey, the house has large paned windows and a simple architectural style. On Sunday afternoon I struggled to decide if my painting was complete. Usually when I struggle with this I usually leave it be.

Sitting awkwardly on my haunches and in other positions was really uncomfortable which only fueled my motivation to fix the painting easel that my neighbor lent me. We took care of it on Sunday night in preparation for my next plein air outing.

0 Responses to “A Ghost House?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

