Summer Fun…

August 31, 2010

The months of July and August allowed me a break from commissioned paintings so I had some fun with the following pieces. One July Sunday afternoon I went on an outing with my parents to Foxton, Colorado. I set up my transportable easel and began painting this landscape scene plein air and completed it from a photograph. I am not enamored with the outcome. The colors are good but the abstract piece has too many jagged edges. Perhaps the size of the canvas is what I don’t like?

On the other hand, my rendition of these colorful cactus flowers photographed during my mid-June hike into the sweltering Grand Canyon has received several compliments.  Figuring out how to photograph these varnished paintings is proving to be tricky.  Please excuse the awkward bright spots while I try to improve in this area…

1 Response to “Summer Fun…”


  1. 1 Andrea @ Fork Fingers Chopsticks September 5, 2010 at 5:36 am

    I like the colorful cactus. Natural light and no flash on the pics will help with the pics.


Leave a comment




Categories