An Extraordinary Coconut

After beginning a new job in May I sought out something simple and fresh to paint. Painting ordinary objects in extraordinary ways is an idea I gathered after walking through the Art Student’s League Summer Art Market one hot afternoon in June. I picked up a coconut from the grocery store, cracked it open on the metal stairs leading to my apartment, drained its milk and set it on a surface to paint. I changed the color and values on my canvas several times while leaving my original composition. I finally settled on this colorful depiction that captures the fun and freedom of summer!

0 Responses to “An Extraordinary Coconut”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

